



# ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Phoenix Lounge, 33780 King Road, Abbotsford BC Wednesday, May 28, 2014

#### **MINUTES**

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. Stephen Rowell (President) was in the chair.
- 2. Twenty-eight (28) Member Schools were represented as follows:

Abbotsford	Frances Kelsey	Oak Bay
Alpha	G.P. Vanier	Robert Bateman
Argyle	Glenlyon Norfolk	Semiahmoo
Brentwood College	Heritage Park	Shawnigan Lake
Burnaby North	Kelowna	South Kamloops
Carson Graham	L.V. Rogers	Southbridge
Collingwood	Lord Byng	St. George's
D.W. Poppy	Lord Tweedsmuir	St. Michaels University
Earl Marriott	Mulgrave	Yale

This constituted a quorum of registered Member Schools.

- 3. Minutes of the Annual General Meeting of May 29, 2013 were approved.
- 4. A Summary of Accounts for the year ending February 28, 2014 was received as follows:

Excess (deficiency) of sources over uses	Year Ended 28-Feb-2014	Year Ended 29-Feb-2013
Cash balance, beginning of year	\$ 31,201.18	\$ 30,688.40
Provincial Tournament	7,378.02	1,634.91
• Seven-A-Side	(500.00)	(1,279.56)
<ul> <li>Scholarships</li> </ul>	(3,500.00)	(750.00)
<ul> <li>Administration</li> </ul>	2,012.34	907.43
	\$ 5,390.36	\$ 512.78
Prior period adjustment	4,628.85	
Cash balance, end of year	\$ 41,220.39	\$ 31,201.18

- 5. BC SCHOOLS SPORTS Report. Executive Director Christine Bradstock spoke to a number of important issues. These included:
  - Gaming and Travel Grants
  - Issues re Insurance
  - Sanctioning for Out-of-Province Competitions
  - Issues related to establishing a season for Rugby Sevens in the fall.
- 6. Scholarships for 2013 were announced as follows:

#### BC Secondary Schools Rugby Union/BC Rugby Referees Society Scholarship

Angus Carroll (*Rockridge*)

# **BC Secondary Schools Rugby Union Scholarships**

Noah Jensen (Robert Bateman)

Jackson Locker (Carihi)

# **Derek Hyde-Lay Memorial Scholarships**

Nick Collett (Southridge)

Gavin Rowell (Robert Bateman)

#### Pacific Northwest Over 40 Rugby Union Scholarship

Tim Stephens (Southridge)

#### **Lower Mainland Zone Scholarships**

Tom Kanwischer (Handsworth)

Jack McWilliam (Lord Byng)

## **UBC** (Buzz Moore) Scholarship

Nick Wright (Earl Marriott)

## **UBC** (Donn Spence) Scholarship

Nakai Penny (Penticton)

#### 7. General Business:

- Brian Lynch provided notice that a formal motion would be brought forward to the 2015
   Annual General Meeting to approve an extensive updating of both our General Rules and
   Regulations and our Provincial Championship Policies and Procedures. A draft copy will
   be forwarded to Zone Representatives for circulation to all Member Schools no later than
   <u>May 1, 2015</u>.
- With respect to the Game Duration and Tie-Breaking Protocol of our Provincial Championship Tournaments, it was moved/seconded that Section 1(a) be amended to read as follows: Sudden death overtime shall be played, during which extra time will be played. The remainder of the tie-breaking protocol shall apply if no score occurs. Carried.
- Re Zone Qualification Forfeiture Moved/seconded that: Where a team forfeits a Provincial Zone qualification game, that team shall be replaced by the next placed team within that Zone. Carried.
- It was proposed that the BCSSRU remunerate a person to enter game scores on our website. Christine Bradstock responded that if scores are emailed to the BCSS office, a staff member will promptly post them to the BCSSRU website.
- There was a lengthy discussion re establishing a Sevens season-of-play in the fall.
   Christine Bradstock explained that the procedure for doing this would include establishing a rationale and surveying all rugby registered Member Schools to determine the level of interest. A formal application could then be forwarded to the BCSS

Competitive Standards Committee. It was moved/seconded that: *The BCSSRU form a committee to explore the possibility of establishing an approved/sanctioned Sevens competition in the fall season-of-play.* Carried.

- Concern was expressed regarding the booing of players when Shawnigan Lake was introduced at the Opening Ceremony. There was unanimous agreement that it was totally inappropriate. One suggestion was that coaches review the Code of Conduct with all players at the beginning of the season-of-play.
- 8. Owen Schutz was formally inducted as an Honorary Member of the BC Secondary Schools Rugby Union. Congratulations, Owen!
- 9. Election of Officers for 2014-2015:
  - Garth Henrikson stepped down as Chair of the AAA Ranking Committee, and was thanked for his work in this capacity over the past year.
  - Tom Larisch (Collingwood) was appointed Chair of the AAA Ranking Committee.
  - Ian Hyde-Lay (St. Michaels University) was confirmed as Chair of the AA Ranking Committee.
  - The Management Committee for 2014-2015 was elected as follows:

President: Walter van Halst

Commissioner and Vice-President: Stephen Rowell

Past President: Brian Lynch Treasurer: Ian MacKay

• Zone Representatives will be determined as each Zone Organization Meeting is held.

10. Adjournment.

:hs